Tel: 01636 555033
We've Got Newark and Sherwood Covered


Awards for young people

Posted onPosted on 9th Mar

Young people who have helped others during the coronavirus pandemic have been honoured at the annual 4Uth awards.

The Nottinghamshire County Council initiative is in its 10th year.

The awards recognised and celebrated young people across the county who took action in the middle of the coronavirus pandemic to help their friends, family and community, or made positive changes to their own lives.

James Kirkland is the winner for Newark and Sherwood. James has been volunteering at a food bank in Newark, delivering food parcels to people in need.

Kate Stacey, of Carlton in Lindrick, is the winner for Bassetlaw. Kate volunteered to help people most at risk from the coronavirus who were isolating or over 65, by delivering more than 2,000 prescriptions to them during lockdown.

The 2020 awards were delayed due to the pandemic, but were not cancelled, as the council felt it was important to acknowledge the achievements of young people in Nottinghamshire in a very difficult year.

Coun Kay Cutts, leader of the council, said: “I’m very proud of all of our winners.

“There are many other young people across Nottinghamshire who have contributed enormously during the coronavirus pandemic.

“They have supported their friends and families, helped their communities, and made positive changes to their lives and the lives of those around them.

“They are remarkable young people who have made a real difference, showing what we can achieve when we work together to help others.

“I know that those closest to them are also very proud of them, for the way they have overcome considerable challenges and their selflessness in the face of Covid-19.

“Congratulations to all of our winners and nominees and thank you to everyone who sent in nominations.”

Other winners are Amy and Ella Meeks, of Arnold; Regan Cattell, of Hucknall; Serena and Phoenix Martin, of Beeston; David Curtis, of Bingham; and Jake Fletcher, Maddie Fletcher, Kenan Chambers and Dionne Williams.